VB: UMHB sweeps UTD to win ASC title

Courtesy: CruAthletics.com

BELTON, Texas – The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor volleyball team swept an undefeated UT Dallas squad to win the 2020-21 American Southwest Conference Volleyball Championship. UMHB earned a 25-20, 25-18, 25-19 win over the Comets to win its fourth ASC title.

UMHB trailed by five early in the first set but fought back to tie the set at 13-13. The set went back-and-forth but UMHB used a 5-0 to close the set with a 25-20 win. The second set played closely with UMHB edging the Comets through the final points. UMHB forced a UTD timeout at 19-15 and outscored the Comets 6-2 from there to win the set 25-18. UMHB put the Comets away with a 25-19 win in the third, giving UT Dallas its first loss of the season and winning the 2020-21 American Southwest Conference championship.

Hannah Frasca led the Cru with 12 kills while Corinne Novak and Kayla Janikula each added 10. UMHB hit 43 kills on 149 total attacks with Alli Pierce assisting 34 points. Defensively, Frasca led the Cru with 22 digs followed by Pierce with 17 and Maddie Gillispie with 14. UMHB totaled nine team blocks in the match, led by Pierce with four.

Hannah Frasca was named 2020-21 American Southwest Conference Volleyball Championship Tournament Most Valuable Player while Corinne Novak and Alli Pierce were named to the All-Tournament Team.